In Search Of Space

Image of Hawkwind - In Search Of Space
Record Label

About this item

On Hawkwind's second album, the seminal space-rockers began to assemble the pieces that would come to be regarded as their signature sound. While some elements of leader Dave Brock's folkie past were still extant (most notably the surprisingly poignant "We Took the Wrong Step Years Ago"), the heavy guitar riffs, wooshing electronic effects, and science-fiction lyrics that typified the eventually predominant Hawkwind style all came into play on "In Search Of Space". Though bassist Lemmy (who would later found Motorhead) had yet to hop aboard the spaceship, Hawkwind's proto-metal tendencies were already apparent in the downright Black Sabbath-like "Master Of The Universe". The acid-damaged "Adjust Me" and the monomaniacal, one-chord jam "You Shouldn't Do That" attest to the growing freakiness of the band, a quality that would only continue to endear them to a hardy contingent of fans as their far-out tendencies increased.


1. You Shouldn't Do That (1996 Digital Remaster)
2. You Know You're Only Dreaming (1996 Digital Remaster)
3. Master Of The Universe (1996 Digital Remaster)
4. We Took The Wrong Step Years Ago (1996 Digital Remaster)
5. Adjust Me (1996 Digital Remaster)
6. Children Of The Sun (1996 Digital Remaster)
7. Seven By Seven (Original Single Version) (1996 Digital Remaster)
8. Silver Machine (Original Single Version) (Live At The Roundhouse London) (1996 Digital Remaster)
9. Born To Go (Single Version Edit) (Live At The Roundhouse London) (1996 Digital Remaster)

Back to top