David Gilmour

On An Island

Image of David Gilmour - On An Island
Record Label

About this item

'On An Island' is the third David Gilmour solo album and his first studio recording since Pink Floyd's 1994 multi-platinum 'The Division Bell'. From the first moments of the sound collage that begins 'On An Island', you know it's a special experience that not only bears comparison with the best of Pink Floyd, but also confirms their lead guitarist and singer as an outstanding solo artist. Here he reveals a personal vision and a breadth of styles - folk, jazz, orchestral and rock - brought together as a unified piece by his lyrical guitar playing and instantly recognisable voice. On An Island is a collection of songs and instrumentals that had its genus in the critically acclaimed 2002 London Festival Hall concerts. Gilmour has stepped out of his super-group to discover he's still at his peak - and he's rightly pleased. 'It's my best and most personal work,' he says. 'Making it with my musician friends has been a positive experience on so many levels.'


1 Castellorizon 3:54
2 On An Island 6:47
3 The Blue 5:26
4 Take A Breath 5:44
5 Red Sky At Night 2:51
6 This Heaven 4:25
7 Then I Close My Eyes 5:27
8 Smile 4:03
9 A Pocketful Of Stones 6:18
10 Where We Start 6:46

Back to top