The National

Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers

Image of The National - Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers
Record Label

About this item

The National are five displaced Ohioans living in New York. They play smart, bracing, and beautiful rock music. Their self-titled debut was hailed throughout the US and Europe by publications ranging from the Village Voice and No Depression to Paris’s Liberation.

"Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers", their follow-up sophomore release, is a great leap forward, an omnibus of rock songwriting that is by turns upbeat and downcast, electric and acoustic, raging and atmospheric. Produced by Nick Lloyd, Peter Katis (Interpol), and Paul Heck (No Alternative; Red, Hot, and Riot!), "Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers" is a bold statement, a song cycle about men and women and all the ways things go wrong and right.


1. Cardinal Song
2. Slipping Husband
3. 90-Mile Water Wall
4. It Never Happened
5. Murder Me Rachael
6. Thirsty
7. Available
8. Sugar Wife
9. Trophy Wife
10. Fashion Coat
11. Patterns Of Fairytales
12. Lucky You

Back to top