Ritual Howls

Ritual Howls - 10 Year Deluxe Edition

Image of Ritual Howls - Ritual Howls - 10 Year Deluxe Edition

About this item

RIYL: Bauhaus, Leonard Cohen, The Cramps, Sisters of Mercy, The Birthday Party, Ennio Morricone.

Detroit based 3-piece combining a blend of industrial, deathrock, drum machines, gothic elements, soundtrack scapes, spaghetti western guitars and a thick, rumbling bass tone. Features new mixes by Adam Stilson, mastering by Rafael Anton Irisarri and a re-imagining of the original artwork by Chris Samuels.

The vinyl & CD packaging includes a 12-page booklet of photos, lyrics and images from the original release date, (2012/2013) The story of Ritual Howls begins in a southwest Detroit basement in the early winter of 2012. Singer/guitarist Paul Bancell had been writing and performing solo as well as in several bands and was looking for collaborators for a new project. Ben Saginaw (bass) and Chris Samuels (synths, drums, drum machines) were acquatances that became natural fits. With the help of a friend (Jeff Navarre), they recorded their first full-length in Ben's art studio using a laptop. Paul tracked vocals at home in his bedroom and, not wanting to relinquish control, mixed and mastered the album himself. A formidable introduction to the band's haunting, cinematic blend of twangy industrial rock, their self-titled album established the band as a unique force in the landscape of dark music, both past and present. Separated by a decade, four LPs, two EPs later, Ritual Howls is an impressively cohesive first effort and testament to the band's vision that, even in its infancy, forged a distinct sound that has only matured with perfection over time.


01. The Year Of Fear
02. Cemetery Guards
03. Keep Those Stones Up
04. L’Atalante
05. Rosabelle Believe
06. Anchorites
07. Hell Fuck
08. The Mark
09. Sacred Awe

You may also like

Back to top