The Freedom Affair

Freedom Is Love

Image of The Freedom Affair - Freedom Is Love
Record Label
Sunflower Soul Records / Colemine Records

About this item

For Fans Of… Sly & The Family Stone, Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings, Durand Jones & The Indications, Black Pumas. Debut album from The Freedom Affair. “Rise Up” was featured on Netflix’s “Self Made” and Apple Watch commercial. Final track features an appearance by the late Dr. Maya Angelou. Released by Sunflower Soul Records in partnership with Colemine Records. 'Freedom Is Love' is the debut album from Kansas City's newest soul juggernaut, The Freedom Affair.

The album explores themes of love, heartache, empowerment, and togetherness through a varying landscape of hard-hitting funk, luscious soul, and everything in between. The Freedom Affair is a unique collective featuring 3 powerhouse female vocalists in front of a dynamic 6-piece band. On 'Freedom Is Love', each of the ladies get their time to shine individually, but the magic is on full display when all 3 come together in unison and harmony, symbolically embodying the messages that they sing about. The album was recorded and produced by Chris Hazelton, utilizing the best of vintage and new recording technologies to create an authentic experience, befitting of a soul record that would have been relevant 50 years ago as much as it will be 50 years from now.


1. Heartaches Don’t Come Easy
2. Make Me Surrender
3. Outta My Mind
4. I Know Better
5. Move On
6. Rise Up
7. Don’t Shoot
8. Give A Little Love
9. One Nation
10. Love Liberates (Featuring Dr. Maya Angelou)

Back to top