Flood Remixed

Image of SCALPING - Flood Remixed
Record Label

About this item

2020 saw Scalping sign to Houndstooth, release a blistering single "Deadlock" and named in the NME 100 for 2021, Following their first full body of work, "Flood Remixed" sees six remixers get to grip with this essential and electrifying new band.

Scottish post-rock icons Mogwai step up to remix "Cloud Burst". Stretching and expanding the track, creating new drum patterns, and continually ratcheting up the drama inherent in the original; a naturally sensational slab of post-rock. Fellow Bristolian, Hodge remixes "Monolithium", a hybrid of hefty bass, tribal techno and sophisticated, polyrhythmic drum interplay. The pre-eminent genius, multi-instrumentalist and composer Laurel Halo supplies a remix of "Deadlock", a single originally released in 2020. Laurel’s slick addition of a tight 808 groove underneath the bombast subtly tweaks the atmosphere, creating a juxtaposition of futuristic club and rock with vintage electro. Tokyo-born, Beijing-raised, London-based producer and DJ object blue’s remix is a typically high-caliber experimental club cut, which puts the propulsive drum beat front-and-center underneath an eery whispered vocal. "Empty Cascade", remixed by the rising producer Azu Tiwaline, leaves almost no elements of the original untouched, creating a blissful and complex dub percussive driven ecosphere almost unrecognizable from the source material. Aphex Twin favourites, AQXDM, deliver a raucous, rambunctious flip of the single "Deadlock". Packed full of blown-out breaks, maximalist bass shots, icy synths, and cascading trance fragments; perfectly excavating the elemental rave substance at the core of Scalping’s music.


A1. Monolithium (Hodge Remix)
A2. Deadlock (Laurel Halo Remix)
A3. The Perimeter (Object Blue Remix)
B1. Empty Cascade (Azu Tiwaline Remix)
B2. Deadlock (AQXDM Remix)
B3. Cloudburst (Mogwai Remix)

You may also like

Back to top