Various Artists

Nervous Records 30 Years (Part 1)

Image of Various Artists - Nervous Records 30 Years (Part 1)Image of Various Artists - Nervous Records 30 Years (Part 1)
<< prev Image Slideshow next >>
Record Label
Nervous Records

About this item

Nervous Records, the iconic label started by visionary father son duo Sam and Mike Weiss celebrates its 30th anniversary with an absolutely jam-packed selection of music. Comprised of both seminal & classic tracks from the label's archive, alongside brand-new remixes by some of its more recent signings, it's a brilliantly curated comp which shows the breadth of innovation this New York based label has enjoyed over its inspiring career. Literally every single DJ I know owns a Nervous record somewhere in their collection; whether it's the purist utterances of house music, soul-infused hip-hop or the early blueprints of what would become techno; the label's sincere and heartfelt approach to artists has nurtured an incredibly diverse and well-respected roster. Named after Louie Vega & Kenny Dope's 'Nervous Track' which would go onto inspire the London broken beat scene; their roster reads like a who's who of dance music royalty: David Morales, Tony Humphries, Roger Sanchez, Armand Van Helden, Kerri Chandler, Kim English, Byron Stingily and Josh Wink to name just a few!

Part 1 comprises of tracks by Willie Ninja, Ralph Falcon, Look Out, The Messenger, Kim English and Byron Stingley; remixed by a smattering of old and new talent such as Tensake, Dr. Packer, Todd Edwards and Louie Vega to name a few. 

Label classic, "You Make Me Feel Might Real", Byron Stingley's invigorated take on the Sylvestre hi-nrg disco staple gets a fresh leese of life via an inspired Kevin McKay remix whilst elsewhere, the proto-hardcore of Phture Trax's "Future Groove" is maxed out by Agent Orange who adopts a tribal-techno approach. 

Set across four discs, the tracks are all pressed at maximum fidelity making it totally DJ friendly too. A vigorously in-depth portrait of this most highly regarded of labels that we can't recommend enough. 


Matt says: Well-deserved 30th anniversary celebration here of a very important label. Every DJ worth their salt owns a Nervous record somewhere in their collection. Here we get a glimpse into the label's new direction as they draft in a stellar cast of modern remix talent.


A1. Willie Ninja - I’m Hot (Louie Vega & Josh Milan Remix)
A2. Willie Ninja - I’m Hot (Expansions NYC Dub)
B1. Willie Ninja - Hot (Louie Vega’s Why Because I’m Hot Original Mix)
C1. Ralph Falcon - Break You (Radio Slave Remix)
D1. Ralph Falcon - Break You (Original Mix)
E1. The Messenger - End This Hate (Tensnake Remix)
E2. The Messenger - End This Hate (Todd Edwards Original Mix)
F1. Beltram Presents Phuture Trax - Future Groove (Agent Orange DJ Rework)
F2. Beltram Presents Phuture Trax - Future Groove (Maxed Out Original Mix)
G1. Kim English - Unspeakable Joy (Dr Packer Remix)
G2. Kim English - Unspeakable Joy (Maurice Joshua Original Mix)
H1. Byron Stingily - You Make Me Feel Mighty Real (Kevin McKay Remix)
H2. Look Out - Let Your Body Go (Franky Rizardo Remix)

You may also like

Back to top