Slum Village

Fan-Tas-Tic Vol 1 - Repress

Image of Slum Village - Fan-Tas-Tic Vol 1 - Repress
Record Label
Ne'astra Music Group

About this item

Repress of the peerless and fearless debut by Detroit's Slum Village. Produced by J Dilla and released in 1997, it saw T3 and Baatin's expertly formed street raps meet Yancey's still-unmatched-today production techniques. Credited by many, including ?uestlove, for birthing the neo-soul movement; it's languid yet free-wheeling sound, built around winding basslines, quirky drumbeats, subtle low-end frequencies, and classic jazz & soul samples would also inform much of Madlib's work ethic through his discography.

An instant hit among Detroit's underground hip-hop scene, the album seemed to combine all the best elements of the reigning alternative and gangsta styles of hip-hop into one cohesive style. "Fan-Tas-Tic"'s influence extended far beyond Detroit, as its sound heavily influenced the sounds of D'Angelo, Erykah Badu, and The Roots just to name a few.

Reissued on vinyl, for the first time in several years by Ne'astra Music Group, it's one of those every-home-should-have-one albums which clearly demonstrates the evolution of the genre and is rightly regarded as a classic debut. 


A1. Fantastic
A2. Keep It On (This Beat)
A3. I Don't Know
A4. How We Bullshit
A5. Fat Cat Song (feat. Phat Kat)
A6. The Look Of Love

B1. Estimate
B2. Hoc N Pucky
B3. Beej N Dem
B4. Pregnant
B5. Forth & Back
B6. Fantastic 2 (Interlude)
B7. Fantastic 3 (Interlude)

C1. Keep It On
C2. 5 Ela (Remix)
C3. Give This Nigga
C4. Players
C5. Look Of Love (Remix)
C6. Pregnant (Remix)

D1. Things U Do (Remix)
D2. Fat Cat (Remix)
D3. Fantastic 4 (Interlude)
D4. What's Love Got To Do With It (Look Of Love Remix)
D5. 2 You 4 You

You may also like

Back to top