Image of Kiri-UU - Creak-Whoosh
Record Label

About this item

Creak​-​whoosh (Estonian, Ingrian and Votian song re​-​imagined in Australia by Olev Muska and Mihkel Tartu)

‘Creak Whoosh’ is a collection of choral ballads originating in the Finno-Ugric regions of Estonia and Ingria, electronically adapted predominantly by Olev Muska and Mihkel Tartu, based around the contemporary arrangements of Veljo Tormis.

Originally established as ‘Kiri-uu’, the project was undertaken by the children of Estonian refugees, most of whom grew up over 8,000 miles away in the metropolis of Sydney, Australia. With the majority having never visited the land of their ancestors prior to the tour of 1989, the first generations reshaping of these ancient folk tales conveys Seeger’s process amidst displacement and its subsequent fringe-culture. Estonian bards are carried forth this time into the 21st century, a revised selection of the original 1988 recordings accompanied by ‘Tšimmairuudiralla’ allowing for new perspectives and, perhaps crucially, a truly global audience.


A1. Veimevaka Jagamine/Distributing The Dowry
A2. Tsimmairuudiralla
B1. Piirileikkilaulu/Roundelay
B2. Ilus Neiu Kiigel/Pretty Girl On A Swing
B3. Harjumaa Lepikud/The Alder Groves Of Harjumaa
B4. Hallilaul/Lullaby
B5. Meri Kiige All/The Sea Under The Swing
B6. Viire Tagant Tulevad/From Beyond The Horizon
B7. Kiik Tahab Kindaid/The Swing Yearns For Gifts

You may also like

Back to top