Pete Rock & CL Smooth

Mecca And The Soul Brother - Reissue

Image of Pete Rock & CL Smooth - Mecca And The Soul Brother - Reissue
Record Label
Get On Down

About this item

Pete Rock And CL Smooth’s Full-Length Debut Is Presented Here As A Double LP Pressed On Clear Vinyl! Get On Down proudly present Mecca And The Soul Brother, the critically acclaimed 1992 full-length debut from Pete Rock & CL Smooth. The album is considered as one of the greatest Hip Hop albums of all time. Boasting tracks such as the first single, “They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.)”, a dedication to their deceased friend; “Trouble T-Roy”, which went on to become not only their signature hit, but also one of Hip Hop’s all-time great songs. The album is propelled forward by Rock’s quick, soulful interludes; usually bits of old R&B tunes layered with his signature trumpet and sax loops. Smooth’s liquid freestyle delivery pieces together the perfect vocal match that, together, creates a sprawling, nearly 80-minute-long album on which not a single song or interlude is a throwaway or a superfluous piece. Mecca And The Soul Brother has stood the test of time. The release has been named one of the essential recordings of the 90s by Rolling Stone, appears on Ego Trips listing of the Top 25 Hip Hop albums released from 1980-1998, and appeared on The Source’s 100 Greatest Rap Albums of all time.


A1. Return Of The Mecca
A2. For Pete’s Sake
A3. Ghettos Of The Mind
A4. Lots Of Lovin
A5. Act Like You Know

B1. Straighten It Out
B2. Soul Brother #1
B3. Wig Out
B4. Anger In The Nation
B5. They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.)

C1. On And On
C2. It’s Like That
C3. Can’t Front On Me
C4. The Creator (Remix)

D1. Mecca And The Soul Brother (Remix)
D2. The Basement
D3. If It Ain’t Rough, It Ain’t Right
D4. Skinz

You may also like

Back to top