Angel Olsen

Song Of The Lark... And Other Far Memories

Image of Angel Olsen - Song Of The Lark... And Other Far Memories
Record Label

About this item

Originally conceived as a double album, All Mirrors and Whole New Mess were distinct parts of a larger whole, twin stars that each expressed something bigger and bolder than Angel Olsen had ever made. Released in 2019, All Mirrors is massive in scope and sound, tracing Olsen’s ascent into the unknown, to a place of true selfacceptance, no matter how dark, or difficult, or seemingly lonely. All Mirrors is colossal, moving, dramatic in an Old Hollywood manner. Recorded before All Mirrors but released after, Whole New Mess is the bones and beginnings of the songs that would rewrite Olsen’s story. This is Angel Olsen in her classic style: stark solo performances, echoes and open spaces, her voice both whispered and enormous. All Mirrors and Whole New Mess presented the two glorious extremes of an artist who, in these songs, became new by embracing herself entirely. Now, with Songs of the Lark… And Other Far Memories, these twin stars become a constellation with the full extent of the songs’ iterations: all the alternate takes, b-sides, remixes and reimaginings are here, together. Alongside, a 40-page book collection tells a similar story, not just through outtakes and unseen photos but through the smaller, evocative details: handwritten lyrics, a favorite necklace, a beaded chandelier. As if it could be more plainly stated (there’s nothing more), Angel adds one cover here: a loving, assertive rendition of Roxy Music’s “More Than This.” It is a definitive collection, not just of these songs but of their revelations and their writer, from their simplest origins to their mightiest realizations.


Barry says: Olsen's 'Song Of The Lark..' box set sees 2019's superb 'All Mirrors' collected with the brilliant selection of alternate versions and stripped-back acousticry from last year, 'Whole New Mess'. On top of that there's a selection of remixes and reworkings from some of the top names in the business. If you don't own any of the aforementioned LP's then this is a must-have collection, but the extra material makes it worthwhile on it's own as well.


1. Lark
2. All Mirrors

3. Too Easy
4. New Love Cassette
5. Spring

6. What It Is
7. Impasse
8. Tonight

9. Summer
10. Endgame
11. Chance

12. Whole New Mess
13. Too Easy (Bigger Than Us)
14. (New Love) Cassette
15. (We Are All Mirrors)
16. (Summer Song)
17. Waving, Smiling

18. Tonight (Without You)
19. Lark Song
20. Impasse (Workin’ For The Name)
21. Chance (Forever Love)
22. What It Is (What It Is)

23. All Mirrors (Johnny Jewel Remix)
24. New Love Cassette (Mark Ronson Remix)
25. Smaller

26. It’s Every Season (Whole New Mess)
27. Alive And Dying (Waving, Smiling)
28. More Than This

Back to top