The Mountain Goats

Songs For Pierre Chuvin

Image of The Mountain Goats - Songs For Pierre Chuvin
Record Label
Merge Records

About this item

A surprise cassette released April 2020, Songs for Pierre Chuvin is the Mountain Goats’ first all-boombox album since 2002’s All Hail West Texas. After selling over 4000 cassettes in a matter of minutes, the avid Mountain Goats fanbase has demanded more and we are happy to acquiesce! Songs for Pierre Chuvin will be available on CD and LP on March 26, 2021.

Praise for Songs for Pierre Chuvin:
“Recording on the same boombox that launched his career, John Darnielle returns to his lo-fi roots for an album of alienation, ancient pagans, and making it through the year together.” Pitchfork

“Full of images fit for these dismal times and slogans suited to surviving them, Pierre Chuvin is an inspiring reminder of how much each of us has left to learn.” NPR

“[Songs for Pierre Chuvin] can be used to escape the present emergency—or, if the listener so chooses, to better understand it.” The Atlantic

“Songs for Pierre Chuvin is exactly what we’ve come to expect: big-hearted songs full of warmth and smarts,



1 Aulon Raid
2 Until Olympius Returns
3 Last Gasp At Calama
4 For The Snakes
5 The Wooded Hills Along The Black Sea
6 January 31, 438


7 Hopeful Assassins Of Zeno
8 Their Gods Do Not Have
9 Surgeons
10 Going To Lebanon 2
11 Exegetic Chains

Back to top