Various Artists

PLZ Make It Ruins - Locked Grooves

Image of Various Artists - PLZ Make It Ruins - Locked Grooves
Record Label
PLZ Make It Ruins

About this item

London-based record label PLZ Make It Ruins have today announced a 40-track compilation of original loops from popular artists across the spectrum of contemporary music. Each track is exactly 1.8 seconds long and has been crafted with the intention of being looped repeatedly, creating a uniquely hypnotic rhythm. The compilation is set for release on December 4th 2020 with net proceeds from the release as well as the project’s merch package being split between ACLU and Liberty UK - organisations that fight systemic inequality on both sides of the Atlantic. Among the list of contributors are Blood Orange, Arca, Clairo, 100 gecs, Kenny Beats, Dominic Fike, Four Tet, Floating Points, label head Vegyn and many more. Artwork for the project comes from Isha Dipika and Travis Brothers. Please see below for a full list of participants. The phenomenon of locked grooves is something that has captured the attention of DJs and record collectors alike for decades; the final note on a record forming a coherent loop as the album comes to a close, creating its own abstract beat. This abstract beat is then used by DJs as a tool to seamlessly blend tracks after the song’s final moments. This purpose is the genesis of the idea behind the project, allowing popular artists from all genres of music to give their own take on the formula with a host of different sounds and atmospheres. The project launched today with a one-off special on NTS, hosted by Vegyn, that explores the music of all the project’s contributors, as well as including a mix created from all 40 loops on the project.


1. 100 Gecs - One Bar To Rule Them All,
2. Arca – UwU,
3. ARTHUR - Rest_less,
4. Blood Orange – MORRIS,
5. Buddy Ross – Future,
6. Channel Tres - Locked In,
7. Clairo – Jasper,
8. Daniel Aged - 3 Pictures,
9. Dijon - PEACKOCK!,
10. Domnic Fike - Cheesy Wine,
11. Duval Timothy - Penny Sweet,
12. Eris Drew - The Beat That Never Dies,
13. Floating Points – Recourting,
14. If You Spin Your Love Around,
15. HAIM - I Know Alone,
16. John Glacier - Shiny Sounds,
17. Kelsey Lu – Only,
18. Kelvin Krash - Guardian Angel,
19. Kenny Beats – Dontoverthinkshit,
20. King Kurle – Moonnn,
21. Lauren Alder – Thorn,
22. Loraine James – Sooth,
23. Matthew Tavares - I Know Myself,
24. Mica Levi - ˜

You may also like

Back to top