Pulse Demon - Reissue

Image of Merzbow - Pulse Demon - Reissue
Record Label

About this item

"Pulse Demon" is one of the most celebrated releases of Masami Akita's storied 4-decade long career. Composed entirely by live noise concrete and the use of a fuzz box, "Pulse Demon" eschews all overdubs and studio trickery, laying Merzbow bare. What follows in these recordings is the pure essence of unfettered noise. The rawness in "Pulse Demon" is palpable; praised as "genuinely extreme, downright torturous sounds that are strangely compelling in their shredding intensity" (A.V. Club) upon its original release in 1996. Remastered by James Plotkin (Isis, Electric Wizard, Full Of Hell, and more), the "Pulse Demon" reissues features "Extract 1", a never-before released track that was recorded as part of the original "Pulse Demon" sessions.


1. Worms Plastic Earthbound
2. Woodpecker No. 1
3. Ultra Marine Blues
4. Tokyo Times Ten
5. Yellow Hyper Balls
6. Woodpecker No. 2
7. Extract 1 (Bonus Track)
8. Spiral Blast
9. My Station Rock

Back to top