Young Marble Giants

Colossal Youth - 40th Anniversary Edition

Image of Young Marble Giants - Colossal Youth - 40th Anniversary Edition

About this item

Young Marble Giants ‘Colossal Youth: 40th Anniversary Edition’ includes the titular album as well as songs from ‘Salad Days’, ‘Is The War Over?’, the ‘Final Day’ single and their ‘Testcard’ EP, plus a live DVD of their last ever US show at Hurrah in New York in 1980

Comprised of guitarist-songwriter Stuart Moxham, brother and bassist Philip, and singer Alison Statton, YMG emerged from the punk and post-punk landscape with a sound like no one else. Recorded in five days, Colossal Youth went on to influence whole legions from Sheffield to Seattle, looking to de-grungify gangs of four or more. They found fans in the likes of Kurt Cobain, Courtney Love, Belle & Sebastian, David Byrne, Sonic Youth, The Magnetic Fields. Cited as one of the most definitive records of the post-punk era, there is something almost canonical about the album’s use of voice, muted instruments and space. Colossal Youth’s attention to sparse detail is now a modus operandi for haunted electronica auteurs and spectral singer-songwriters alike, but ultimately, only the Young Marble Giants sound like Young Marble Giants.


1. Searching For Mr Right
2. Include Me Out
3. The Taxi
4. Eating Noddemix
5. Constantly Changing
6. N.I.T.A.
7. Colossal Youth
8. Music For Evenings
9. The Man Amplifier
10. Choci Loni
11. Wurlitzer Jukebox
12. Salad Days
13. Credit In The Straight World
14. Brand – New – Life
15. Wind In The Rigging
16. Have Your Toupee Ready
17. The Man Shares His Meal With His Beast
18. Hayman
19. Loop The Loop
20. Ode To Booker T
21. Final Day
22. Radio Silents
23. Cakewalking
24. This Way
25. Posed By Models
26. The Clock
27. Clicktalk
28. Zebra Trucks
29. Sporting Life

DVD – Live At Hurrah, New York, November 1980:
Choci Loni
Radio Silents
Music For Evenings
Colossal Youth
Credit In The Straight World
Brand – New – Life
Include Me Out
Wurlitzer Jukebox
Final Day
Salad Days
Searching For Mr Right

Back to top