The Lemonheads

Lovey - 30th Anniversary Edition

Image of The Lemonheads - Lovey - 30th Anniversary Edition
Record Label
Fire Records

About this item

Ltd edition BOOKBACK Double LP, black vinyl with DL Code (2000 worlwide).
Deluxe reissue of The Lemonheads ‘Lovey’ for Record Store Day 2020, housed in a bookback sleeve with expanded liner notes and unseen photos – this is the definitive document of Dando’s first steps towards the mainstream. The lovingly repackaged LP is accompanied by a second vinyl, ‘Triple J Live at the Wireless’, an unearthed radio session taken from their 1991 trip to Australia.

The major label debut for Evan Dando’s Lemonheads from 1990, following three “ramshackle punk” (©Select magazine) albums for Taang! Pivoted on a more approachable set of sweet melodies still rife with punky spirit. A light and dark album, polished in the arrangements, nodding to the excess of American culture (Manson and Gummi Bears), hectoring Reagan’s drug laws (‘Lil’ Seed’), riffing on everyday life. Remastered with a freshly-dusted off second album featuring a full radio session recorded during their trip to Australia to promote the album and their gorgeous cover of Gram Parsons’ ‘Brass Buttons’. “Like Hüsker Dü when they were at their most ferocious or REM when they were at their most Byrdsian hypnotic.” NME. 


Disc One: The Lemonheads – Lovey:
A1 Ballarat
A2 Half The Time
A3 Year Of The Cat
A4 Ride With Me
A5 Lil Seed
B6 Stove
B7 Come Downstairs
B8 Left For Dead
B9 Brass Buttons
B10 (The) Door
B11 Untitled.

Disc Two: The Lemonheads - Live At The Wireless:
C1 Come Back D.A.
C2 Stove
C3 A Song For You
C4 Come Downstairs
D5 Nighttime (Big Star Cover)
D6 Year Of The Cat
D7 Ride With Me
D8 Die Right Now

Back to top