Little Joy

Little Joy

Image of Little Joy - Little Joy
Record Label
Rough Trade Records

About this item

Having been out of print for years, ‘Little Joy’ is back on vinyl available on Rough Trade Records. Little Joy are Binki Shapiro, Rodrigo Amarante and Fabrizio Moretti, three friends who dropped their routine at their respective hometowns to make a record in Los Angeles, California. 

Through a chance encounter at a Portuguese festival in Lisbon, where both Amarante (singer / guitarist of Los Hermanos) and Moretti (drummer of The Strokes) had performed, the two chatted well through the night and into the morning by the side of the river, humouring the idea of working together on music that had no affiliation to their particular bands.  

A year later, Amarante travelled to the United States to record with Devendra Banhart on his ‘Smokey Rolls Down Thunder Canyon’ album. On the off hours of an arduous recording process, Amarante would meet with Moretti to discuss anything but music.

Binki Shapiro, musician and native of Los Angeles, was introduced to the pair through mutual acquaintances and became a fast friend, encouraging the two to focus on the music they had spoken of long before. Through the process of late night ‘show-and-tell’ the three developed and arranged songs Moretti had begun and soon after started writing original music for the group as a band.

A couple of months later they all moved into a house in Echo Park to demo songs and soon after, with the help of producer Noah Georgeson, who had recorded Banhart’s album, they finished their self-titled debut, ‘Little Joy’, named after the cocktail lounge just down the street from their home.


1. The Next Time Around
2. Brand New Start
3. Play The Part
4. No One’s Better Sake
5. Unattainable
6. Shoulder To Shoulder
7. With Strangers
8. Keep Me In Mind
9. How To Hang A Warhol
10. Don’t Watch Me Dancing
11. Evaporar

You may also like

Back to top