On A Promise

Image of Boyracer - On A Promise
Record Label
Emotional Response Records

About this item

For 3 decades now Boyracer have tirelessly trawled the international indie-pop underworld, linked to many “classic” indie labels such as Sarah and Slumberland, embracing and promoting the essence of DIY-punk ethics with an armful of fuzzboxes, a cast of thousands and a continued sense of playful urgency. “On A Promise”, Boyracers is 13th Full Length, (but hey, who’s counting?),that finds Stewart’s songwriting flourish with welcome addition of Christina Riley, (Artsick, Burnt Palms), who effortlessly adds dazzle and elan to the classic fuzz-pop blueprint. The LP features 16 tracks that are chock full of passion and purpose. Having honed their sound, Boyracer are now at their most comfortable and confident.

“On A Promise” was recorded over a 2 year period, in such exotic locations as Flagstaff Arizona, Sydney Australia, Berlin Germany, and Scarborough UK. Typical of Anderson’s approach to his music over the past decade, “On A Promise” features many guest players old and new, building on the bands reputation and past positivity, whilst continuing to move forward. Sarah Records-Era member Simon Guild makes a return to Boyracer after a 27 year absence, as does Laura Bridge (Kicker, Hood etc), who also returns to the fold after 29 years to make her Boyracer vinyl debut on 2 of the tracks! Also featured are Mary Wyer and Anita Rayner (Even As We Speak), Snowy (Ocean Party), Penny McBride (Cannanes), and longtime well known Boyracer members Matty Green, Jen Turrell, Ged McGurn and Ara Hacopian.


1 Hit And Miss
2 Crack The Red
3 Bunk Off Work Today
4 Stand By Yr Words
5 So Long
6 Positively Golden
7 Hidden Memories
8 The Rest Of Yr Life
9 Untitled
10 Girl In A Soul Band
11 Move On Up
12 Bored And Lonely
13 Chiseled By Hertz
14 Looks
15 Fucked Up Legacy
16 Entitled
17 Nervous

Back to top