The Enraged Will Inherit The Earth

Image of McCarthy - The Enraged Will Inherit The Earth
Record Label
Optic Nerve

About this item

Originally released in 1989. The Enraged Will Inherit the Earth is a musical molotov cocktail that’s a mixture of power chords and virile, virtuous lyrics.

The songwriting is tightly forged and their knack for producing raw pop is at its finest here. The Enraged Will Inherit The Earth is a powerful weapon that didn’t get enough of a user base to make its intended impact. If the question was ever proposed, “can art be a weapon?” I think this album answers with a bold and resounding “yes.”

Including the singles Boy Meets Girl, So What; Should The Bible Be Banned; Keep An Open Mind Or Else & This Nelson Rockerfeller. 


Barry says: With poppy hooks and progressions hidden beneath a cover of driven politicism and anti-war sentiment, McCarthy presented a fascinating and enjoyable juxtaposition of styles and production techniques. This new remaster includes an extra LP AND an extra 7” too!


A1 Boy Meets Girl So What
A2 Governing Takes Brains
A3 An Address To The Better Off
A4 Hands Off Or Die
A5 What Our Boys Are Fighting For
B1 Keep An Open Mind Or Else
B2 We Are All Born Creeps
B3 The Home Secretary Briefs The Forces Of Law And Order
B4 I’m Not A Patriot But
B5 Throw Him Out He’s Breaking My Heart .

A1 Should The Bible Be Banned
A2 St Francis Among The Mortals
A3 The Myth Of The North-South Divide
A4 We Are All Bourgeois Now
A5 Two Criminal Points Of View
B1 This Nelson Rockefeller
B2 The New Left Review #1
B3 The Lion Will Lie Down With The Lamb
B4 All Your Questions Answered
B5 The New Left Review #2

Side 1: Who Will Rid Me Of These Turbulent Proles?
Side 2: You Had To Go And Open Your Big Mouth

Back to top