Nina Simone

1957-1962: The Essential Works

Image of Nina Simone - 1957-1962: The Essential Works
Record Label
Masters Of Jazz

About this item

Nina Simone was an exceptional artist. She was gifted with a precocious talent and she played music at home and in church. Nina originally counted on becoming the first black female classical pianist ; her plans were thwarted and that frustration no doubt permeated almost her entire career. Yet she became a diva capable of combining the jazz world with those of the classics and soul, and among other titles she recorded are some of the most vibrant and moving performances of Wild is the Wind or You Can Have Him, I don’t Want Him.

She was one of the greatest artists of her time, and her fervour and rigorous demands concerning the quality of her music took her to the highest summits, whether in her compositions or in her vocal and piano performances. For all that, she never forgot her condition as a black woman in the America of the Sixties, and her active commitment to defending the rights of the black minority was exemplary - and at times even excessive, for which she was often reproached.

She has left us some of the most beautiful chapters in jazz and soul music, among them the 23 titles that appear in this album.


A1. My Baby Just Cares For Me
A2. Love Me Or Leave Me
A3. I Love You Porgy
A4. Little Girl Blue
A5. Mood Indigo
B1. Blue Prelude
B2. Stomping At The Savoy
B3. You've Been Gone Too Long
B4. That's Him Over There
B5. He's Got The Whole World In His Hands
B6. African Mailman
C1. Wild Is The Wind
C2. The Other Woman
C3. Summertime
C4. Exactly Like You
C5. I Don't Want Him, You Can Have Him
C6. Fine And Mellow
D1. Work Song
D2. Just Say I Love Him
D3. Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me
D4. Something To Live For
D5. Can't Get Out Of This Mood
D6. Solitaire

Back to top