The Sonny Clark Memorial Quartet


Image of The Sonny Clark Memorial Quartet - Voodoo
Record Label
Black Saint

About this item

Originally released in 1986, "Voodoo" shows the Sonny Clarke soulful Hard Bop conception as seen through the oblique perspective of a NY Downtown Allstar quartet featuring John Zorn - alto sax, Wayne Horvitz, piano, Bobby Previte - drums and legendary bassman Bill Drummond. This unique and iconic album stands as one of Zorn's first declared tributes to the art of an influential musician and composer. All compositions are by Sonny Clark including such hits as "Cool Struttin" and "Something Special" both from his classic late Fifties / early Sixties "Blue Note" sessions. A full catalogue of opened up Hard Bop structures and advanced Jazz modes.


A1. Cool Struttin'
A2. Minor Meeting
A3. Nicely
A4. Something Special
B1. Voodoo
B2. Sonia
B3. Sonny's Crib

Back to top