Grizzly Bear

Horn Of Plenty (Reissue)

Image of Grizzly Bear - Horn Of Plenty (Reissue)
Record Label
Kanine Records

About this item

The debut album from Grizzly Bear will be repressed on cloudy clear vinyl for its 15 year anniversary.

Before they were sound tracking Super Bowl ads, headlining festivals, making TV appearances and opening for Radiohead, Ed Droste started Grizzly Bear as a pet project meant only for friends. 15 years ago, Horn of Plenty was created in his Brooklyn apartment and after hooking up with multi-instrumentalist Chris Bear, Horn of Plenty was released by the new, upstart Brooklyn label Kanine Records in 2004. One year later, Horn of Plenty was rereleased with a bonus remix album, which will be included in the download card of this release. The rest of Grizzly Bear’s rise is history.

"The Grizz offer tender and creepy folk mantras that function as a Paxil substitute or antidote, depending on your disposition." Spin Magazine

"The gentlemen of Grizzly Bear paw around in wholly distinct regions of gentle, nocturnal psych-folk, conjuring visions of an imagined bedroom collaboration between the Doug Yule-era Velvet Underground, Nick Drake, and a pajama-clad Pooh with his head jammed in a honey jar." Pitchfork Media

"Grizzly Bear captured its etherized folk on the beautiful Horn of Plenty (Kanine), a dreamy, evocative record that sounds like it was recorded a mile below sea level." Time Out NY

"Dreamy vocals and pillowy, guitar-driven effects that evoke Neil Young on cough syrup." V Magazine

“The pure atmospheric power of the songs is more than enough to hypnotize” Rolling Stone


Side A

01 Deep Sea Diver
02 Don’t Ask
03 Alligator
04 Campfire
05 Shift
06 Disappearing Act
07 Fix It

Side B

08 Merge
09 A Good Place
10 Showcase
11 La Duchess Anne
12 Eavesdropping
13 Service Bell
14 This Song

Back to top