Image of Milord - Meta
Record Label
Pinchy & Friends

About this item

After hitting the bullseye with each of their first three releases, P&F Recordings returns with it’s fourth release, beaming out of Napoli with a f-f-f-fresh four track EP from Milord (known to many as one half of the duo “The Normalmen” and one-third of “The Mystic Jungle Tribe”).
M • E • T • A / M • U • S • I • C. is one part vintage library-music studio wizardry another part lowkey house. Imagine a slinky G-funk synth at a new-age retreat, a spacey kraut jam at an eighties video arcade - all at once familiar, yet unglued from any particular moment in time.
Fully living up to its name, opening gambit "Transcendental Experience" drifts through an IC-style cloud of billowing pads, laser guided keys and new age percussion idents. Things switch into cosmic boogie territory for "The Kemetist", a low and loose club-cut for the weirdos led by a frazzled motif and synth bass. I would think this plays great with that Phaser Boys EP on Aiwo. "Infinite Balance" continues to shake a leg between boogie, street sounds electro and new age, exploring the overlap between Herbie's "Earthbeat" and Paul's "Rainforest". Milord drops the tempo but ups the temperature on the titular closer, delivering a tropical groover topped with Asian melodies and backed with a gentle 808-bell groove.

12 Inch Picture Sleeve shrink wrapped with an obi strip.


Patrick says: The endless, endless stream of brilliance coming from Naples continues this week, with Milord's mega "Meta" on Pinchy & Friends, a dope distillation of IC electronics, Neapolitan boogie and new age dance.


A1. Transcendental Experience
A2. The Kemetist
B1. Infinite Balance
B2. Meta Music

Back to top