Various Artists

South Bronx Hip Hop Classics: B Boy Records

About this item

B Boy Records was a significant player in the development of hip-hop in the 1980s, but a very short lived label shrouded in mystery. This double LP selects the best of the independent label, from the beginning of the label to including past icons and future legends, hard-hitting drum programming, synthesize and sampled beats overlaid with fierce battle rap swagger. This is a snapshot of hip-hop history. The label is best known for issuing the hugely influential Boogie Down Productions LP "Criminal Minded", which features twice on this release with ‘The Bridge Is Over’ and ‘South Brox’. Other highlights include JVC Force’s enduring classic ‘Strong Island’, DJ Scott La Rock (founding member of BDP) & D-Nic and all-female rap Sparky D, 5 Star Moet.
The double vinyl LP packs in 16 tracks, presented on 180g heavyweight classic black vinyl with printed inner sleeves


A1. J.V.C. Force - Strong Island
A2. Boogie Down Productions - South Bronx (Truth Version)
A3. Soul Dimension - Can't Get Enough
A4. Tall, Dark & Handsome - Call It What You Wanna
B1. Boogie Down Productions - The Bridge Is Over (Vocal Mix)
B2. K.D. Nice - Get Up (Vocal)
B3. DJ M.A.T.E. And The Latin MC's - Let's Jam
B4. K-Bee & Ceil-B - Who Am I?
C1. D.J. Scott La Rock & D-Nice - Scott Made Me Funky
C2. Positive Image - Serious Business
C3. Money Earnin Crew - Stars Are Shinin
C4. 5 Star Moet - Let Me Love You
D1. Busy Boys - That's The Flavor
D2. Sparky D - Throwdown
D3. 991 Volt's - 991 Volt's Of Noise (Vocal)
D4. Spicey Ham - Sex, Sex & More Sex

You may also like

Back to top