Craven Faults

Erratics & Unconformities

Image of Craven Faults - Erratics & Unconformities

About this item

Erratics & Unconformities is the first album by Craven Faults. It follows three EPs: Netherfield Works, Springhead Works and Nunroyd Works. Long-form analogue electronic journeys across decades and continents, and swathes of post-industrial northern Britain.

The journey on Erratics & Unconformities picks up where Netherfield Works left off. We take the canal towpath out of the city. We fork north shortly afterwards. Is this where it started? The terrain gradually becomes more rugged. Familiar. Wild. Evidence of human activity is less immediate in this glacial landscape. It’s there if you seek it. But easy to ignore. If you listen carefully, you can still hear the weight of the ice-sheet carving its way through the rock.

Everything in its own time. The output from the old textile mill Craven Faults calls home is no longer as linear as it once was. There was no clear start point for the project, rather simply rediscovering the joy in experimentation with no material goals. Some of the recordings that make up Erratics & Unconformities go back almost seven years. Tracks have come and gone in that time. They don’t leave until they’ve undertaken a stringent quality control process. It started slowly, but has picked up momentum in the last eighteen months. Recorded and re-recorded to the correct level of imperfection, and then left to breathe. Mixed and re-mixed. Carefully compiled when the time was right.

The journey is just as important as the destination.

Now signed to The Leaf Label following three highly regarded EP releases on the Lowfold Works label, Craven Faults’ debut album will be released at the end of November 2019

Carefully constructed since day one, Craven Faults’ world draws on the the rural, industrial and geological heritage of the north of England

The identity of the producer behind Craven Faults is a closely guarded secret, though clues litter the landscape if you know where to look…

Videos are currently in production for ‘Deipkier’ and ‘Slack Sley & Temple’
‘Diepkier’ will be released as a digital single on Nov 4

Erratics & Unconformities will be available as a limited editon double LP on transparent yellow vinyl in a gatefold sleeve (indies only – 600 copies), a regular double black vinyl LP, and as a limited 3CD box set, to include the album and all 10 tracks from the four Lowfold Works EPs that preceded it, for the first time on CD – 200 minutes of music in total. CD limited to 1,000 copies for the world

Support from Kieran Hebden, Demdike Stare, Dan Snaith, Graham Massey, James Holden, Gold Panda, Bill Kouligas, Luke Abbott, Not Waving, Steve Davis, Resident Advisor, NTS and Beats In Space

The limited edition coloured vinyl EPs on Lowfold Works have now sold out, with black vinyl editions remaining in print

The album comes hot on the heels of the Lowfold Reworks EP featuring remixes by Pye Corner Audio, Don’t DJ and President Bongo (released on November 1st)


3CD:    2LP:
1-1.      A1. Vacca Wall (17:37)
1-2.      B1. Deipkier (7:55)
1-3.      B2. Cupola Smelt Mill (9:13)
1-4.      C1. Slack Sley & Temple (18:24)
1-5.      D1. Hangingstones (10:29)
1-6.      D2. Signal Post (8:33)
2-1.             Eller Ghyll (16:20) (from Netherfield Works)
2-2.             Tenter Ground (15:56) (from Netherfield Works)
2-3.              Intakes (17:01) (from Springhead Works)
2-4.              Ings (14:13) (from Springhead Works)
3-1.              Engine Fields (7:00) (from Nunroyd Works)
3-2.              Dye & Size (10:23) (from Nunroyd Works)
3-3.              Foddergang (17:37) (from Nunroyd Works)
3-4.              Intakes (Pye Corner Audio Rework) (6:51) 
3-5.              Foddergang (Don’t DJ Rework) (9:05) 
3-6.               Eller Ghyll (President Bongo Rework) (13.28) 

Back to top