Yoshio Ojima

Une Collection Des Chaînons I And II: Music For Spiral

Image of Yoshio Ojima - Une Collection Des Chaînons I And II: Music For Spiral
Record Label

About this item

WRWTFWW Records is insanely happy to announce the first ever double CD reissue for both volumes of Yoshio Ojima’s superb environmental music project Une Collection des Chaînons I and II: Music For Spiral, originally released in 1988. The twenty track opus is sourced from original masters and comes as a double digipack CD with liner notes in English and Japanese. This marks the inaugural release from the ESPLANADE SERIES by WRWTFWW Records which focuses on the works of Yoshio Ojima and friends.

Une Collection des Chaînons I and II gathers selected music pieces conceptualized and produced for sound-designing the Wacoal Art Center in Aoyama (Tokyo) also known as Spiral, a hub for a wide range of sophisticated cultural proposals spanning visual arts, theatre, music, design, fashion, and lifestyle.

Named after its superb curled-shaped structures laid in a vast atrium, Spiral is a monumental work of architecture by Fumihiko Maki, designed according to the principles of Metabolism, a movement advocating the fusion of the notions of megastructures and organic biological growth - in essence, evolving designs and constructions, adapting to human needs naturally.

Evolving, organic, adapting, these are notions that perfectly describe Yoshio Ojima’s divinely designed brand of environmental music. Based on a meticulous work on timbres and textures, it approaches sound design in relation to various contexts, sizes, and feelings. CD 1 flows from the eerie and levitating "Entrance" to the quirky "Esplanade (LIVE)", the gentle and reassuring "Flius", and the measured and ravishing escalation of "Mensis". On CD 2, the nanoscopic neoclassical lullaby "Les Trois Grâces" brings attention to the importance of small details, "Pulse at Soothe" starts with the minimalism of a Satoshi Ashikawa piece and slowly drifts into mystical landscapes and cavernous echoes, "Entomology" and its melancholic artificial forest evokes a Twin Peaks mirage, and "Atrium" literally feels like a floating visit of a gigantic open space structure.

Sitting alongside Midori Takada’s Through The Looking Glass, Satoshi Ashikawa’s Still Way, Hiroshi Yoshimura’s Green, or Yutaka Hirose’s NOVA, as a pivotal work of Japanese environmental/ambient/minimalist music, Une Collection des Chaînons (which translates as a collection of links) is a delicately laid out sonic landscape connecting space and emotions, architecture and humanity, adjusting and transforming through the ears of the listeners.

A note from Yoshio Ojima: "Please listen to this album at around the same volume as daily life sounds such as air conditioners and refrigerators."


01. Entrance 6:05
02. Esplanade [LIVE] 8:29
03. Float On 5:41
04. Glass Chattering 5:52
05. Entomology (misfortune) 3:24
06. Flius 9:30
07. Mensis 10:23
08. Serene 4:49
09. #1 (11-02) 7:28
10. #4 (11-10) 10:01

01. Les Trois Grâces 7:51
02. Evocations 7:12
03. Orientate 5:06
04. Pulse At Soothe 9:15
05. Parjanya 11:47
06. Entomology (Let’s GO-GO) 4:09
07. Atrium 8:27
08. Market 7:08
09. Sealed 5:52
10. Signe (Ambient Mix) 4:48

Back to top