Vox Populi!

Alternatif Realisme

Image of Vox Populi! - Alternatif Realisme
Record Label
Emotional Rescue

About this item

Emotional Rescue completes its trilogy exploring the music of Vox Populi with Alternatif Realisme. Highlighting the music that followed 1989's Aither (ERC030) as they transitioned from ethno-industrial roots towards a more expressive "world" sound, until the band's dislocation in 1994.

The band's development saw original members Axel Kyrou (electronics), Mitra (vocals) and Arash Khalatbari (percussion) augmented by a number of guest musicians, bringing an energy to their spontaneous recordings sessions at their studio.

The additional vocals of Dierdre Dubous is indicative of this change. Her onomatopoeia singing features heavily, invoking songs Letsam La, Chaque Jour Est Un Bon Jour and the ethereal She Walks So Easily Across The Sky.

With this, Mitra's vocals lift Chaque Jour Est Un Bon Jour, Razaye Axel Jube Hast and closing paean Chirine, showing their best. Surrounding instrumentals - often built out of long improvisational jamming - underpin. Soleymani Dub, with its Laswell dub groove is a clear stand out, while the melodics of Vapanda's Electric Garden come like a wonderful Woo outtake.

Largely unreleased, the recordings were a step outside of the changing shift towards a more digital sound. The album captures Vox Populi!, mixing their atmospheric mastery with heartfelt arias, that have familiarity but are completely unique.


A1. Letsam La
A2. Chaque Jour Est Un Bon Jour
A3. Soleymani Dub
A4. Sunshine Boy & The Time Keeper
A5. Chapati Train
A6. Tu Renverses Encore!
A7. Getting To Know The Moon
B1. Au Dessus De La Falaise
B2. Razaye Axel Jube Hast
B3. Vapanda's Electric Garden
B4. She Walks So Easily Across The Sky
B5. Chirine

Back to top