Various Artists

Disco Not Disco - Reissue

Image of Various Artists - Disco Not Disco - Reissue
Record Label

About this item

Strut present a new repress of the influential first volume of ‘Disco Not Disco’ compiled by Joey Negro and Sean P as part of the label’s 20th Anniversary.

‘Disco Not Disco’ was a perfectly timed compilation back in 2000. Released when interest in the myths, history and playlists of original New York clubs like Paradise Garage and The Loft was at its peak, the album drew on the outer limits of leftfield disco championed by Levan and Mancuso, bringing together unlikely dancefloor anthems by rock acts like Yoko Ono and Ian Dury, obscurities from cottage labels like BC and Splash and selected oddities from the unique mind of avant-garde hero, Arthur Russell. It was essentially a celebration of the sonic melting pot in New York during the early ‘80s, an era when punk had burnt itself out and disco had become commercial and saccharine; in its place, the post-punk movement threw up brilliant oddities which tore up the accepted rulebook.

Since its release, the compilation title has become a by-word for a whole genre of music and remains a landmark collection of its time. With original copies now changing hands for €100+, this new pressing is a welcome return for an essential celebration of disco’s difficult cousins. 


A1. Yoko Ono – Walking On Thin Ice (1981 Re-Edit)
A2. Liquid Liquid – Cavern
B1. Loose Joints – Tell You (Today) (Vocal)
B2. Ian Dury & The Seven Seas Players – Spasticus Autisticus (Version)
C1. Material – Over And Over
C2. Was (Not Was) – Wheel Me Out
D1. Dinosaur – Kiss Me Again (Original Edit)
D2. Don Cherry – I Walk
E1. Common Sense – Voices Inside My Head
E2. Nicky Siano - Move
F1. Indian Ocean – School Bell / Tree Hous

You may also like

Back to top