John Shima

The Lonely Machine

Image of John Shima - The Lonely Machine
Record Label

About this item

Hailing from the heartland of British techno, Sheffield’s John Shima is one of the leading lights of UK electronics. His beautifully crafted sounds have graced a host of imprints including Distant Worlds, Exalt Records and, of course, FireScope. It is to the latter that Shima returns with his long awaited debut album, "The Lonely Machine".

John Shima is a master melody weaver, with this first LP attesting to his deftness of touch. Celestial chords and star gazing synthwork permeate this ten track odyssey. The musical heritage of Shima’s hometown, the elegance, majesty and subtlety of British electronics, is invoked from the needle drop. A range of influences come to the fore in this 2LP. Skirting around the edges of astral ambience and tonal texture are nods to industrial history, the rasp and resonance of rhythms in “Empires”, with the inspiration of Detroit surfacing in the future funk of “Phase Distortion” and “Linear.” Dreamscapes are painted in delicate hues, the fragile movements of “Accepting”, with brooding works adopting thicker basslines and ruffled notes as with “Distrust.” Nevertheless, it is the incandescent brightness of Lonely Machine that truly shines. Radiant pieces of elating electronics, complex and joyful compositions that chime with unbridled hope and open-hearted optimism.


Matt says: Anyone chatting to me over the counter or seeing me play records will know by now I'm a BIG fan of John Shima. Poised, elegant, delicate nuances pepper all his productions, each one an instantly recognizable, crafted masterpiece. Check you're a fan of RX-101, Reel By Real, Octave One, Radioactive Man etc. Wrought iron sonics, galvanized in Sheffield 4 our listening pleasure!


1. Intel
2. Airwaves
3. Empire
4. Phase Distortion
5. Electronic Slaves
6. Accepting
7. Migrate
8. Distrust
9. Linear
10. The Lonely Machine 

Back to top