The Murder Capital

When I Have Fears

Image of The Murder Capital - When I Have FearsImage of The Murder Capital - When I Have Fears
<< prev Image Slideshow next >>

About this item

Called out by The Irish Times as “Ireland’s best new rock band” and named as an one of NME's “100 Essential New Artists for 2019," When I Have Fears is the debut album from Dublin, Ireland's The Murder Capital.

Produced by Flood (PJ Harvey, New Order, Foals) the album features both singles from the band so far, "Feeling Fades" and "Green & Blue", as well as the first studio recording of breakthrough track "More Is Less".

An exercise in both darkness and light, “When I Have Fears” only serves to highlight the early ambition in the band's sound. From the post-rock build and breakdowns of the two-part "Slowdance", to the tender, bruised confessional of "On Twisted Ground" and industrial pulse of closer "Love, Love, Love", there's a consistent intensity throughout that marks out The Murder Capital as a band arriving fully formed on their debut album.


Barry says: The Murder Capital are a perfect storm of gloomy existential post-punk and hypnotic punk drive. Swaggering through the more industrial, cavernous atmospheres of Joy Division or the chanting spoken-word drawl of Mark. E, there is a lot for Manchester to love in this one. Brilliant stuff.


1. For Everything 
2. More Is Less 
3. Green & Blue
4. Slowdance I
5. Slowdance II
6. On Twisted Ground
7. Feeling Fades
8. Don't Cling To Life
9. How The Streets Adore Me Now
10. Love, Love, Love

Back to top