A Midsummer Nice Dream - 15th Anniversary Edition

Image of Ochre - A Midsummer Nice Dream - 15th Anniversary Edition
Record Label
Lapsus Records

About this item

Lapsus Records proudly presents the third release in its “Perennial” series, dedicated to reissuing
contemporary electronica classics from established artists.

The third release is from Christopher Scott Leary, who over the last two decades has produced a plethora
of material under his pseudonym, Ochre. 2019 marks 15 years since the original release of “A Midsummer
Nice Dream” in 2004; on British label Toytronic, which pushed Leary to the forefront of the experimental
electronic music sphere. To celebrate the releases’ fifteenth anniversary, Lapsus Records will reissue a
special collector’s edition of this IDM classic in the form of a double tri-colour vinyl release, re-mastered by
John McCaig (panicStudios). It will also include a full-colour print of the new artwork, re-designed by
Portland (Oregon) illustrator Nathaniel Reeves, who has worked alongside Ochre for almost a ten years.

This special deluxe reissue entitled “A Midsummer Nice Dream (15th Anniversary Edition)“, features
unreleased material from the same period and includes three bonus tracks on its vinyl version, six on its
digital version, making it a truly unique release. It therefore offers a golden opportunity to rediscover an
album that navigates through several genre domains such as ambient, IDM and experimental electronica in
its purest form, stylistically reminiscent of the likes of Autechre, conveying a sound considerably ahead of its
time. In its entirety “A Midsummer Nice Dream” is undoubtedly one of the most remarkable electronica glitch
albums to be released in the 2000s, when the genre experienced its zenith, largely thanks to the advent of
significant breakthroughs in digital production tools.


A1. Yugen
A2. Low Grav Freefall (High Altitude Mix)
A3. Revolver
A4. Brancaster Coast
B1. REM Sleep Research
B2. Drink Malk
B3. Involution
B4. Eleven
C1. Seesoar
C2. Saturniner
C3. Sticklebrick Symphony
C4. Summer Lusk
C5. A Midsummer Nice Dream
D1. In Waves
D2. Indivisible
D3. The End Of The Rise

You may also like

Back to top