Chase & Status


Image of Chase & Status - RTRN II JUNGLE

About this item

Brand new 12 track album. A huge moment for the trio, "RTRN II JUNGLE" marks fifteen years since the group started releasing music (and nine years since THAT infamous, "Blind Faith" MCR warehouse...) and touring the world. With this landmark moment in mind, Chase and Status have gone back to their roots and their passion - jungle music. The genre that sculpted their career in the 90’s is back, and re-crafted in an authentic way that's both sympathetic to the genre yet up-to-date with modern production standards.

Instead of sampling dancehall, the group have gone back to Jamaica - creating their own new music to sample, and forging an organic and irresistible sound. The sound, project and accompanying documentary and installation revist this classic UK genre, shining a light on its timeless infectiousness and dancefloor slaying force. Recommended! 


Matt says: Never been a huuuge fan of these guys but this is mega! Boring purists will find summat to complain about I'm sure, but across 12 tracks Chase & Status respectfully visit all sides of the jungle spectrum (and nearly every break too!), updating it with new vocals (those old ragga samples were getting pretty stale anyway) and snappy, radio-friendly arrangements; surely introducing it to a global audience. UK jungle should be celebrated in 2019 and who better to present it to the world.


Side 1
1. Shut Up (feat Suku) (4:02)
2. Heater (feat General Levy) (3:11)
3. Original Business (4:10)
4. Murder Music (feat Kabaka Pyramid) (3:34)
5. Program (feat Irah) (4:05)
6. Cool N Crisp (feat Natty Campbell) (4:07)
Side 2
1. Weed & Rum (feat Masicka) (3:22)
2. Burning (4:00)
3. Retreat2018 (feat Cutty Ranks) (4:35)
4. Delete (feat Burro Banton) (3:01)
5. Bubble (feat New Kidz) (3:44)
6. Disaster (4:12)

Back to top