Richard Spaven

Real Time

Image of Richard Spaven - Real Time
Record Label
Fine Line Records / Diggers Factory

About this item

After the release of critically acclaimed first single ‘Faded’ featuring Jordan Rakei (Record of the week on BBC6 Music) and second single ‘Spin’ which is currently making waves on streaming platforms and DJ sets, Richard Spaven is proud to present his new studio album ‘Real Time’.

Recorded live during a week at Real World Studios in the Bath countryside, ‘Real Time’ captures the artfulness of a band of musicians creating something truly unique. Richard’s history with his long time band became an inspiration for what you will hear on this record. His collaboration with vocalist Jordan Rakei continues - exceeding expectations after an intense week-long residential recording session. Featuring on four album tracks, ‘Faded’ and ‘Spin’ as well as two highly original versions of some classics - Busta Rhymes’ ‘Show Me What You Got’ and ‘Celestial Blues’, Jordan delivering his contempt soul on this spiritual jazz classic.

Also in attendance co-writer and long-standing band members Stuart McCallum (Cinematic Orchestra, The Breath) on guitars and bassist Robin Mullarkey (Jacob Collier), with Oli Rockberger (Laura Mvula) joining on keys. Notable for their diverse production skills, Frederic Robinson (Medschool) and Jameszoo (Brainfeeder) join Richard on Real Time. The inclusion of their intricate sound design and warped distorted abstract sees that the music on Real Time is elevated to new levels.

Throughout the 9 tracks of the album, Richard on drums plays artfully with the beats, subtlety abounds yet grooving hard in constantly shifting, unexpected turns of rhythmic layers. The result is contemporary electronica yet with the feel of a live album, from a group of exquisitely talented forward-thinking musicians who are not bound by any genres but thrive in the simple idea of creating and playing together.


A1. Spin (Feat. Jordan Rakei)
A2. Helsinki Trio
A3. Faded (Feat. Jordan Rakei)
A4. Rescue
A5. Show Me What You Got (Feat. Jordan Rakei)
B1. Control
B2. Celestial Blues (Feat. Jordan Rakei And Jameszoo)
B3. Stay Close
B4. Loved One

You may also like

Back to top