Alan Hawkshaw

The Road Forward - 2019 Reissue

Image of Alan Hawkshaw - The Road Forward - 2019 Reissue
Record Label
Be With Records

About this item

Be With have raided the KPM archives to re-issue another of thei favourites from the KPM 1000 series.

They say: A comprehensive collection of descriptive contemporary scores.

We say: Just look at the track titles of The Road Forward and swoon: Strangelands, A Man Alone, Sheer Elegance, Mystique Voyage, Cruising. Don’t you just want to hear those? The maestro Alan Hawkshaw really spoils us on this, one of the most sought after KPM greensleeves.

This collection from 1977 is a brilliantly varied blend of silky smooth synths, funk-fuelled clavichord grooves and soft focus space beats. Essential.

As with all of their KPM re-issues, the audio for The Road Forward comes from the original analogue tapes and has been remastered for vinyl by Be With regular Simon Francis. They’ve taken the same care with the sleeves, handing the reproduction duties over to Richard Robinson, the current custodian of KPM’s brand identity.
And don’t worry! Those KPM stickers aren’t stuck directly on the sleeves!


A1. Current Affairs
A2. Current Affairs (a)
A3. The Road Forward
A4. Sky Train
A5. Sky Train (a)
A6. Get Ready, Get Set – Fly
A7. Man Of Means
A8. Destination Venus
A9. Merry Go Round
B1. Strangelands
B2. Sheer Elegance
B3. Cruising
B4. Mystique Voyage
B5. Strangeways
B6. A Man Alone

You may also like

Back to top