Grodeck Whipperjenny

The Grodeck Whipperjenny

Image of Grodeck Whipperjenny - The Grodeck Whipperjenny
Record Label
Now-Again Records

About this item

Sho is Funky Down Here and The Grodeck Whipperjenny are a pair of albums that are the result of an unlikely but highly productive musical relationship between James Brown, a superstar at the creative and commercial peaks of his long career, and David Matthews, a then young arranger-musician whose limited professional experience had little or nothing to do with the funk and soul of his collaborator. The Grodeck Whipperjenny. A psychedelic classic, created by his James Brown’s bandleader David Matthews, the first album issued on Brown’s famed People imprint. As progressive as it is funky, this album was issued in tandem with another Matthews project issued under Brown’s name – Sho Is Funky Down Here. One of the deepest albums in the Brown catalog, its story is finally told. Both albums were lacquered directly from the original master tapes at Capitol Studios. This is the first official reissue of both of these rare titles. Each album contains an extensive booklet with full annotation, liner notes by Brown historian Alan Leeds and never-before-published photos


01. Sitting Here On A Tongue
02. Wonder If
03. Why Can't I Go Back
04. Conclusions
05. You're Too Young
06. Put Your Thing On Me
07. Inside Or Outside
08. Evidence For The
09. Existence Of The Unconscious

You may also like

Back to top