Various Artists

Backstreet Brit Funk Vol.1 Compiled By Joey Negro - Reissue

About this item

Backstreet Brit Funk Vol.1 is being reissued for the first time since its original release in 2010 plus this will be the first ever release on vinyl for this highly regarded collection of rare and very sought-after underground British disco, boogie and soul tracks avoiding the obvious hits that have been on a million CDs already. Many of these tracks never went beyond a very small local release but have since become very collectable - buying this lot would set you back somewhere in the four figures.

Both Vol.1 (2010) and Vol.2 (2018) of the Brit Funk albums tell the story of the underground scene from the late 70’s through to the mid-80’s in the UK when punk and disco were giving way to a new blend of jazz, soul and funk, heavily influenced by the American big hitters of the day but re-worked by the UK pioneers for the British dance floors.

Both volumes contain a unique selection of high quality music, which will have a shelf life lasting well beyond the currents trends and fads. All tracks have been re-mastered to a very high standard and now sound better than ever before. Joey Negro re-edited some of the tracks for the original album, updating them with a fresh new approach.


A1. China Burton - You Don't Care (About Our Love) (Joey Negro Edit)
A2. Ed Bentley - Bentley Boogie
B1. Style X - No Secret Affair
B2. Mirage - Summer Grooves
B3. Savanna - Never Let You Go
C1. Ritual - Sore Lip
C2. MBT - You Know Too Much
C3. Ranson, McKenzie & Friends - Orange Groves
D1. 52nd Street - Express
D2. The Cool Notes - I Wanna Dance
D3. Nigel Martinez - Better Things To Come (Joey Negro Edit

You may also like

Back to top