John Paul White

The Hurting Kind

Image of John Paul White - The Hurting Kind
Record Label
Single Lock Records

About this item

Three years after releasing his post-Civil Wars solo debut, John Paul White has announced details of his next solo album, The Hurting Kind, which will be released via White’s Single Lock Records.

Featuring vocal contributions from Lee Ann Womack, Erin Rae, and the Secret Sisters, White’s forthcoming album was co-produced alongside the Alabama Shakes’ Ben Tanner and recorded a variety of studios in White’s native Muscle Shoals region. The Hurting Kind also finds White co-writing with legendary Nashville songwriters like Bobby Braddock and Whisperin’ Bill Anderson.


Barry says: Shining with the heartfelt vocals and beautiful slide guitars of classic Americana but turned more towards the more subtle realms of folky singer-songwriter with JPW's impeccable ear for a progression and indelible sense of melody.


1. The Good Old Days
2. Wish I Could Write You A Song
3. Heart Like A Kite
4. Yesterday's Love
5. The Long Way Home
6. The Hurting Kind
7. This Isn't Gonna End Well (Feat. Lee Ann Womack)
8. You Lost Me
9. James
10. My Dreams Have All Come True

Back to top