Bogdan Raczynski

Rave ‘Till You Cry

Image of Bogdan Raczynski - Rave ‘Till You Cry

About this item

Disciples follow up the raid on the archives of Black Lodge with ‘Rave ‘Till You Cry’ by enigmatic producer Bogdan Raczynski, a collection of unreleased tracks and versions. Raczynski arrived on the scene in 1999 with not one but three albums released in quick succession that year alone on Rephlex Records. A unique operator even by Braindance standards, rumoured to have been discovered by Aphex Twin whilst sleeping rough in Tokyo. A steady stream of records followed, hyperactive broadsides of percussion set off by a winning knack for the buried earworm melody, much like his mentor Richard D James. He also memorably collaborated with Björk and remixed Autechre for Warp’s ‘10+3’ compilation but things have been quiet since the release of his last studio album ‘Alright!’ in 2007.

‘Rave ‘Till You Cry’ signals a return across 18 tracks selected and sequenced by Disciples, joining the dots between the outsider junglism of the ‘96 Drum n Bass Classixxx’ ‘compilation’ and his earliest rephlexions on hallucinatory, bassbin-rattling IDM with ‘Boku Mo Wakaran’. Across one CD or four sides of vinyl, the joyous sugar-rush tunes of classic 1990s Nintendo games meet drill-like breaks, ambient drone and slabs of bit-crushed noise. It also showcases a more introspective side to the Bogdan sound, the soundtrack to a labyrinth of tunnels loaded up with gurners starting to feel unwell as the early hours begin to dissipate into the harsh rays of morning light.

Much like the recent resurgence of Digital Hardcore’s Christoph De Babalon and the off-kilter time signature of recent records by Demdike Stare and Rian Treanor, Bogdan Raczynski’s return is a timely reminder of


156 S2n
134 32iii
318 22t7
220 S3d
329 15h
220 S1c
307 33m15
332 23t422
309 14ae2
213 213r
220 S2c
356 34h12
306 24n812
306 41dr
210 31c22
220 S5d
355 44ir
204 Fr

You may also like

Back to top