Maria Somerville

All My People

Image of Maria Somerville - All My People
Record Label
No Label

About this item

Building from a reputation of enthralling live shows, Dublin based singer and musician Maria Somerville delivers her debut LP, "All My People", a collection of works recorded across Dublin, Cornamona and Inis Óirr. 

Somerville draws on conventional folk forms alongside post-punk, traditional Irish motifs, starry eyed pop and hypnotic drones to create wholly original music that is a product of its environment. Channeling the wilderness of the Irish landscape through dense, ethereal soundscapes and bare boned percussion, Maria adds ghostly vocals that are ever present and all encompassing, like crystalline glints of sunshine peeking through dark stormy clouds. The duality of darkness and light is at play throughout the releases seven tracks, hinting at an uneasy optimism during difficult times. 


A1. Eyes Don't Say It
A2. This Way
A3. Undoing
A4. Dreaming
B1. All My People
B2. All Too Much
B3. Brighter Days

Back to top