Dominique Guiot

L'univers De La Mer

Image of Dominique Guiot - L'univers De La Mer
Record Label

About this item

WRWTFWW Records keep the heaters coming with an official reissue of super rare and fabled prog-rock/library/synth album "L’Univers De La Mer" by French composer Dominique Guiot. The full length release is sourced from original masters, available on vinyl LP for the first time since 1978 and housed in a 350g sleeve with a spellbinding artwork by surrealist sci-fi artist Jacques Wyrs.
Written, composed and played by Dominique Guiot with his Mellotron, Minimoog, clavinet, organ, and guitar, "L’Univers de la Mer" draws its inspiration from deep sea exploration, oceanic creatures, and underwater kingdoms. The 12-track album navigates organically through diverse mutations of the prog-rock and synth kind, from scenic meditation pieces ("Wind Surf Ballad"), to medieval electronica ("Une Ballade Pour Une Goélette"), spacey smooth jazz ("Les Deux Poissons"), funked out fantasy folk ("L’Univers De La Mer"), or even incredible Sega Mega-CD vibes ("La Danse Des Méduses") - altogether painting a fascinating world of eerie magic and subaquatic sensuality. It’s escapism at its best with subtle overtones of Schicke Führs Fröhling, Mike Oldfield, and Claude Perraudin.
The sound of the album is brilliantly captured by its surreal cover art, the work of legendary artist Jacques Wyrs, whose memorable record sleeves include Klaus Schulze’s Picture Music, Eloy’s Floating, Ange’s Le Cimetière Des Arlequins, and the 1974 reissue of Larry Coryell’s Spaces. 


Side 1
1. Wind Surf Ballad
2. La Danse Des Meduses
3. Une Ballade Pour Une Goelette
4. Les Deux Poissons
5. Ballet Amoureux Des Dauphins
6. Les Pingouins S'Amusent
Side 2
1. Destination Inconnue
2. Iceberg En Voyage
3. L'Univers De La Mer
4. Alerte En Mer
5. Les Emigrants De La Mer
6. A La Decouverte D'Une Amphore

Back to top