Zeni Geva & Steve Albini

Maximum Implosion

Image of Zeni Geva & Steve Albini - Maximum Implosion
Record Label
Cold Spring

About this item

'Maximum Implosion' collects all collaborative (and most sought after) pieces between Zeni Geva (KK NULL) and Steve Albini (BIG BLACK / SHELLAC): "Nai-Ha" and "All Right, You Little B*st*rds!". Also included are bonus tracks from the ultra-limited 12"-only "Superunit", presented with meticulous Cedar mastering by legendary mastering engineer Denis Blackham.

On the first CD, Zeni Geva present ultra-heavy Japanese noise rock, with sludgy riffs, thundering feedback, lumbering drums, subhuman bass crawl, and complex noise textures, with KK Null's trademark vocals / unique guitar accompanied by Albini's heavy guitar. "Nai-Ha" loosely translates to "broken inside", with the title track relaying the gruesome aftermath of a car accident.

The second CD captures Zeni Geva and Steve Albini's live-to-desk tracks from Tokyo & Osaka in 1992. Albini also makes vocal appearances, as well as guitar throughout. All production and mixing by Steve Albini. Final mastering by Martin Bowes at Cage Studios in England, and presented here in its complete form for the first time on Cold Spring.

"With a huge sound reminiscent of Godflesh in its heavy bottom and impossibly high-end guitar tones, resulting in almost no mid-range, it's hard to believe that there are only three people in the band... What saves the record from sounding like an impenetrable wall of sludge are a combination of Albini's sure-handed engineering and production, along with the band's precise grasp of noise, dynamics, and song construction... Anybody into sheer, painful heaviness should check this one out!" (Korperschwache).


1. Autobody
2. Shirushi
3. Intercourse
4. Angel
5. Nai-Ha
6. Terminal Hz
7. Kettle Lake
8. Painwise

1. I Want You
2. New Flesh
3. Autobody
4. Godflesh
5. Guystick Bodie
6. Angel
7. Kettle Lake
8. Painwise
9 Total Castration
10. Bigman Death
11. The Model
12. I Hate You 

You may also like

Back to top