Low Sea


Image of Low Sea - Portals
Record Label

About this item

Hailing from Ireland, Bobby (originally from Liverpool) and Billie (Bosnian born) from the ephemeral Low Sea compose music that flows like a serpentine river through the uncanny valley. Indeed, the owls are not what they seem—but even such blatant allusions can’t sketch an intuitive image of the sound-scapes woven by this intriguing dyad.

This is the duo’s third album having released a mini album on Lefse and a narcotic synth pop album on Dell’Orso and this album further extends their insular grey disco sound.

Low Sea’s woozy, gothic take on coldwave synthpop remains intact on Portals, but this time out moving from the shadows to the light of city nights. Intricately layered melodies shimmer and then pick up energy, as Billie’s unique beguiling voice sings of loss and triumph, loneliness and euphoria.

As with the last album there is a track mixed by the legendary Stephen Hague (Propaganda/ Pet Shop Boys), the final song All Living Creatures.

‘’There are just not enough superlatives in the English language for that matter to describe how good this band are’’
- Dan Hegarty, RTE2FM

‘’the most glorious dark – hewn pop songs – the perfect mix of heart and ice’’ NME.


1) I Feel Uneasily Loved
2) Turn Away
3) Hunting For Your Shadow
4) Hanged Man
5) Sleeping
6) Mizar
7) All That Fall
8) Underground Disco Of Tehran
9) All Living Creatures

Back to top