Hampshire & Foat

The Mage

Image of Hampshire & Foat - The Mage
Record Label
Athens Of The North

About this item

Greg Foat's 9th album 'The Mage' joins the dots between the past and future of British jazz. Enlisting the talenst of jazz/library/soundtrack legends Duncan Lamont, Art Themen, Ray Russell and Clark Tracey to collaborate with their modern contemporaries Greg Foat, Moses Boyd and Heliocentric's drummer Malcolm Catto to create something undeniably British but outward looking and global.

A long time personal ambition for Greg was to work with Trinidadian songstress Kathy Garcia, on 'The Mage', this wish is granted as she joins him to re-imagine the deep Xian masterpiece 'Of my Hands', 45 years after recording it as a young girl.

Greg's compositions and arrangements showcase the old and new, downtempo folkscapes, free jazz with notes of hip-hop and soul from the young team flavouring the mix. Featuring Simon Ljungman and Friends as a male choir, Greg's EMS Synthi AKS experiments (made famous by Dr Who) the album is a testament to the versatility and pure musicality of all those involved and Greg Foat's ability to bring artists together to record beautiful, timeless music.


Barry says: Is there anything Hampshire and Foat can't do? We've had their downbeat folky LP, their stunning take on modern-classical and ambient, and now their newest outing maintains the jazzy undercurrent so prevalent in their previous works, but this time adding in a dreamy eastern tinge. Beautifully hazy and thoroughly superb.


1 Of My Hands
2 Endless Love
3 Drifting
4 The Magic Radish
5 The High Priestess
6 Incantation
7 The Mage

Back to top