Strange Creatures

Image of Drenge - Strange Creatures

About this item

The follow up to their critically acclaimed albums Drenge (2013) and Undertow (2015), as well as this year’s Autonomy EP, Strange Creatures includes singles ‘This Dance’ and ‘Autonomy’, and according to the band is “the most considered record we have ever made”. 

Speaking about Strange Creatures, Drenge said “It’s a nocturnal record. A psychological horror movie on wax. Warped hallucinations from mundane observations as you move through it. Is that a school or a skyscraper on fire in the distance? Or maybe it’s just the ski village? You drive nearer, past roadside diners jammed with dancing teenagers, through Uncanny Valley, past the most unhygienic nightclub in the world. The stereo sounds like it’s going to fall apart at any moment. The car judders to a halt and all you can hear is the sound of the sea.”


Barry says: Since 2015's 'Undertow', it's clear Drenge have been honing their songwriting skill and propensity for vicious, scathing instrumentation and roaring distorted vox, with 'Strange Creatures' presenting as their most refined and focused offering yet. Fleetingly dystopian and noticeably gothic, we get a heady mix of jazzy flourishes, gloomy rock and snappy instrumentals all topped with Loveless' distinct vocal talents.


1. Bonfire Of The City Boys
2. This Dance
3. Autonomy
4. Teenage Love
5. Strange Creatures

6. Prom Night
7. No Flesh Road
8. Never See The Signs
9. Avalanches
10. When I Look Into Your Eyes

Back to top