Straight Ahead

Image of Zenit - Straight Ahead
Record Label
Edition Hawara

About this item

Zenit is a jazz ensemble from Krems in Lower Austria, founded in 1976 by Hannes Treiber and Willi Langer. Their music was celebrated locally, but to reduce them to their local fame would be a shame: After all, their first two LPs, "Stimmungswechsel" (Change of Moods) and "Früchte" (Fruits), quickly gained them a much wider audience of discerning listeners. Arguably, however, Zenit’s third and final LP "Straight Ahead" is the most special of their records. It initially came out in 1986 on the producer’s label Spray Records, and is today one of the hardest-to-find Austrian jazz records. Its centrepiece is the infectious slow-motion disco piece “Waiting,” with vocals by American jazz singer Linda Sharrock. Effortlessly bringing together pop, soul and new age vibes, this is a record that is as unique as it is difficult to date. Does it sound like from the 80s? We’re not sure. To our minds at least, it could also be from the future.


Patrick says: A reissue for the Balearic beards, deep diggers and YouTubers here, as the third album from Austria's Jazz fusion outfit Zenit gets a reissue. Loved by Harvey for the slo mo cool of climax "Waitin'", lusted after by a generation of diggers who met on the IF forum, and now known to pretty much anyone who uses Autoplay - this is straight up algo-rhythm!


A1. Colours In My Head
A2. Different World
A3. A Little Bit Of Funk
A4. Play The Game Of Life
B1. Magic Words
B2. Come On & Try
B3. Departure 03
B4. Waitin'

Back to top