Various Artists

DJ Kicks - Mount Kimbie

Image of Various Artists - DJ Kicks - Mount Kimbie

About this item

Mount Kimbie heads up the latest DJ Kicks series with a 23 track mix that includes one of their own new exclusives. It’s a snapshot of exactly what the UK duo sound like in the club right now and is accompanied by a DJ Kicks tour that sees the pair feature extensively all over the globe.

2018 marks a decade since Kai Campos and Dominic Maker first hooked up and started making music. In the early years they refashioned dubstep into innovative new forms that drew on ambient, garage and electronica. After a critically acclaimed debut album on Hotflush, they signed to Warp Records and have consolidated their position at the forefront of the international electronic scene with two critically acclaimed albums and countless world live tours.

This is a mix inspired by a mini-run of DJ gigs that Mount Kimbie played with Actress. 'It was an interesting and challenging experience, and I learnt a lot on the six dates we did,' says Kai, who explains that plenty of the tracks he was playing during those gigs make it into the mix. They make it a forward looking affair that calls on music the band have discovered recently; music they have found inspiring. Their own 'DJ Kicks’ exclusive track was made especially for the mix and was initially influenced by Stanislav Tolkachev and Alexis Perala, who are both also included. Rather than a painstaking plan or meticulous studio approach, this session captures the improvised energy of a real DJ mix, but one where each track is given time to breath and make an impact rather than one where DJ trickery is at the fore.

The result is a succinct 50 minutes that often goes deep, with rough hewn drums and grainy atmospheres from the likes of Terrence Dixon, Severed Heads, Marco Bernardi and Object Blue. It perfectly knits together stripped back rhythms, percussive tracks and more harmonic techno while seamlessly joining the dots between the old and the new. It’s a well balanced mix that stays low and heady, and that sense of focused tension is what makes it so utterly compelling throughout.

The vinyl, as is the norm, selects the tastiest, more sought after or simply the tracks that were permissible for vinyl licensing and does away with the mixed concept, presenting a smorgasbord of cutting edge tracks for you to relish at your own enjoyment. 


1. Madalyn Merkey - Meridian
2. Via App - Baby K Interaction
3. Severed Heads - Always Randy
4. De Leon - B1
5. Efdemin - America (Terrence Dixon MInimal Detroit Mix)
6. System Olympia - Night Rise
7. Oliver Coates - Timelapse (Walrus)
8. N.Y House'n Authroity - APT. 2B
9. Computer Says No - Grab And Reform
10. D'Marc Cantu - The Will And The End
11. Object Blue - Even In You
12. Severed Heads - Lamborghini (Petrol 1982)
13. The Abstract Eye - Nobody Else Part 2
14. Marco Bernardi - The Light Beside The Hall
15. Via App - Chatter
16. Mount Kimbie - Southgate (DJ-Kicks)
17. Stanislav Tolkachev - Blue Mood
18. Watching Airplanes - Saboter La Machine
19. Rupert Clervaux & Beatrice Dillon - IX
20. Aleksi Perälä - UK74R1512110
21. Mount Kimbie - Blue Train Lines (Nina Kravitz Remix)
22. A Sagittariun - Contortian
23. Taz & Meeks - Obviously

A1. Severed Heads - Lamborghini (Petrol 1982)
A2. Marco Bernardi - The Light Beside The Hall
B1. Object Blue - Even In You
B2. N.Y House'n Authroity - APT. 2B
C1. Computer Says No - Grab And Reform
C2. Mount Kimbie - Southgate (DJ-Kicks)
C3. Aleksi Perälä - UK74R1512110
D1. Via App - Chatter
D2. Taz & Meeks - Obviously

You may also like

Back to top