Welcome To This World

Image of Mabuta - Welcome To This World
Record Label

About this item

After a string of killer reissues covering everything from Township synthpop, through Afro-disco essentials to Kwaito killers, Okapi's Afrosynth turn their attention to the comtemporary sound of Cape Town with this glorious set of deep jazz from bassist Shane Cooper. A central part of the new wave of young voices in the South African jazz scene, Shane has spent the last few years as a prolific sideman, award-winning acoustic jazz artist, and rogue operator in South Africa’s leftfield dance scene under the alias Card On Spokes. Here the composer and producer takes the his place at the head of the ensemble, leading us through smooth and spiritual cuts, at once inspired by the cosmic sonics of Sanders and Lonnie Liston Smith but also bearing the rim rattling beat and rolling bass of hip hop. Featuring contributions from Shabaka Hutchings, Buddy Wells and Reza Khota, "Welcome To This World" is a rich and heady hit of contemporary jazz, perfect for fans of Gondwana, Ezra Collective and Sons Of Kemet.


Millie says: Essential listening with this fresh album from Mabuta, taking contemporary jazz to a whole new level with the combinations of afro-disco and electronic spiritual tones. Truly stunning.


1. Welcome To This World
2. Bamako Love Song (ft. Shabaka Hutchings)
3. Fences (ft. Shabaka Hutchings)
4. Beneath The Waves
5. Log Out Shut Down (ft. Buddy Wells)
6. Tafattala (ft. Reza Khota)
7. The Tunnel
8. As We Drift Away 

Back to top