Johnny Clarke

Creation Rebel

Image of Johnny Clarke - Creation Rebel

About this item

Among the ranks of singers, only Johnny Clarke comes close to challenging Bob Marley & Dennis Brown for reggae’s crown, through his unequalled run of hit songs. His output of mid-70s classics powered by producer Bunny “Striker” Lee, give Clarke status among the top artists of the period and contemporary relevance on the live show and reggae festival circuit.

Many of Johnny’s classic roots recordings gathered here, were given international exposure in the 1998 release ‘Dreader Dread’ released by the esteemed Blood & Fire label. Expanded and re-mastered, the release of ‘Creation Rebel’ captures the very essence of what is now regarded as the golden age of roots music.

Package bonus features include extended length mixes of “Jah Love Is With I,” “Bad Days Are Going,” and “Peace And Love In The Ghetto.” Newly composed liner notes by Noel Hawks. 


Side 1
1. Play Fool Fe Get Wise (2:47)
2. Live Up Jah Man (3:00)
3. Dread A Dread (3:08)
4. Time Will Tell (3:27)
5. Blood Dunza (3:11)
6. King In The Arena (4:31)

Side 2
1. Fire & Brimstone A Go Burn The Wicked (4:12)
2. African People (3:14)
3. Jah Jah We Are Waiting (3:49)
4. In The Roots Of The Ghetto (3:17)
5. Roots Natty Congo (3:12)
6. Love Up Your Brothers & Sisters (2:38)

Side 3
1. Peace & Love In The Ghetto (5:20)
2. Age Is Growing (3:25)
3. African Roots (3:06)
4. Every Knee Shall Bow (3:37)
5. Top Ranking (3:29)

Side 4
1. Move Out Of Babylon Rastaman (3:33)
2. Commercial Locks (feat Dillinger) (3:16)
3. Enter Into His Gates With Praise (2:47)
4. None Shall Escape The Judgement (3:40)
5. Joshua's Words (3:23)
6. Jah Jah Bless Joshua (3:32)

Back to top