Ruby Andrews

Black Ruby

Image of Ruby Andrews - Black Ruby
Record Label

About this item

Although for the longest time she has been a Chicago resident, Ruby Andrews’s wonderfully dramatic vocals sounds like straight from the deep south of the USA. Actually, that is where she was born in Hollandale, Mississippi, in 1947. She recorded at least six albums that are each highly treasured by soul and funk fans all over the world.

"Black Ruby", the brilliant second LP from this marvelous soulsinger first appeared on the Zodiac label in 1972. Just one minor nationally charted hit came off the LP. But as a whole it is even more revered than her hit-laden predecessor among soul aficionado’s. It’s considered an exemplary classic of a deep- and Chicago-soul album.

The music has re-appeared some times in one form or another but the LP was never before fully reissued on high quality vinyl! A true gem indeed. 


1. (I Want To Be) Whatever It Takes To Please You 05:54 
2. Overdose Of Love 02:30 
3. The Love I Need 02:40 
4. Didn't I Fool You? 02:51 
5. You Made A Believer Out Of Me 02:38 
6. Good 'N Plenty 02:57
7. You Ole Boo Boo You 02:55 
8. Just Lovin' You 02:51 
9. My Love Is Comin' Down 02:39 
10. Hound Dog 03:28

Back to top