Living In Extraordinary Times

Image of James - Living In Extraordinary TimesImage of James - Living In Extraordinary Times
<< prev Image Slideshow next >>

About this item

This summer, James are back with new songs forged in these strangest of days.

The new recording sessions were overseen by Mercury Prize-winning producer Charlie Andrew and rising star Beni Giles.

‘Hank’, which opens the new record, is further evidence that James have no inclination to shy away from politics. Booth is an Englishman in America, and that particular perspective on Donald Trump’s American carnage couldn’t help but have an impact on the writing of the record.

As well as biting social commentary, ‘Living In Extraordinary Times’ also sees Booth speak frankly about deeply personal issues. On ‘Coming Home (Pt. 2)’, he writes - not for the first time - about the pain of being a father on tour away from a young child.

That song features an appearance from long-time James collaborator Brian Eno.

The new album also features ‘Better Than That’, in which Booth urges the universe to do its worst, like a man squaring up to life itself.

“You can do better than that,” he sings. “Hit me again and show me where I’m cracked.”


Barry says: As soon as I heard 'Coming Home Pt. 2', my mind was instantly transported back to James' heyday with Booth's singular vocal character soaring over the top of classic chord progressions and beautifully evocative production, That's not to mention the beautiful cover! Superb stuff.


1. Hank
2. Coming Home (Pt.2)
3. Leviathan
4. Heads
5. Many Faces
6. How Hard The Day
7. Extraordinary Times
8. Picture Of This Place
9. Hope To Sleep
10. Better Than That
11. Mask
12. What's It All About 

Bonus Tracks On Deluxe CD Edition:
1. Moving Car (Demo)
2. Overdose (Demo)
3. Trouble (Demo)

Back to top